About Alaska Real Estate Education

Our Mission Statement

The key to a successful real estate career is honesty, involvement, and education. The mission of Alaska Real Estate Education is a commitment to provide education to real estate practitioners that will give them the tools needed to succeed in their careers, while protecting their customers and clients.

Traci J. Barickman, ABR, CRB, CRS, GRI, EPRO

image15

  • Broker and Educator - Instructor Traci J. Barickman has been a resident of Palmer in the Mat-Su Borough for 45 years and licensed real estate professional for over 25 years.  
    Supervising licensees can be a challenge. Quality education is the key to maximizing efficiency and reducing risk and liability for any broker. Traci holds several NAR designations, including the ABR (Accredited Buyer Representative), CRB (Council of Real Estate Brokerage Managers), CRS (Certified Residential Specialist), & the GRI (Graduate, REALTOR® Institute). She has logged thousands of hours teaching real estate classes throughout the State of Alaska, including Pre-license, Broker upgrade, Post license, Continuing Education, and advanced courses including GRI courses. She  continues to improve her own career by setting examples and standards that she expects of all who enter into a career in Real Estate.

Real Estate in Alaska

image16

  • The Matanuska-Susitna (Mat-Su) Borough lies in the heart of south central Alaska, encompassing more than 25,000 square miles of rolling low lands, mountains, glaciers, lakes, rivers and streams, and is home for over 80,000 Alaskan residents.  

Course Offerings

Pre-License Education

image17

Salesperson Pre-license Education & Requirements  
Correspondence and online courses are now available - click on link to get started.  

Salesperson Enrollment Form 

$375

In accordance with AS 08.88.171, a person desiring to acquire any type of real estate license in Alaska must:

  • Pass the appropriate exam
  • Not be under indictment for forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other felony implying character untrustworthiness.
  • Apply for licensure within six months after passing the exam.
  • Pay the appropriate fees [12 AAC 64.073 and 12 AAC 02.360]
  • Meet the appropriate education requirements.

Additional Requirements for Salesperson License

An applicant wishing to become a licensed salesperson must:

  • Be at least 19 years of age and work for a licensed broker.
  • Complete 40 classroom hours approved pre-licensing education or approved correspondence course.
  • If convicted of a felony, forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud creditors, fraud or other crimes that in, in the judgment of the Commission, affects the individual’s ability to practice as a real estate salesperson competently and safely, a license will not be granted. Before an application for a real estate license will be considered, seven years must have lapsed since the individual completed the sentence that was imposed upon conviction.

Alaska Real Estate Commission Licensing Requirements
Alaska Real Estate Education offers the 40 hour pre-license course by correspondence. Enroll at Salesperson Enrollment Form , or email questions to:  tjb@mtaonline.net The cost is $375 which includes all material necessary to obtain your completion certificate. 

Broker Upgrade

image18

Broker Upgrade Enrollment

$399.

In accordance with AS 08.88.171, a person desiring to acquire any type of real estate license in Alaska must:

  • Pass the appropriate exam.
  • Not be under indictment for conspiracy to defraud, or fraud.
  • Apply for licensure within six months after passing the exam.
  • Pay the appropriate fees [12 AAC 64.073 and 12 AAC 02.360].
  • Meet the appropriate education requirements.
  • Obtain and maintain E&O insurance.



An applicant wishing to become a licensed broker must complete 30 classroom hours of approved broker training.

A person must have completed 36 consecutive months within the last 60 months as a real estate licensee, and real estate must have been his/her principal occupation; he must either own a real estate business or work as the broker for a corporation or partnership.

A corporation or partnership can have only one broker in charge. If a second person, meeting the qualifications of a broker, holds an ownership position or is employed by the company, that person is considered an associate broker.

If a broker no longer meets the conditions of ownership or corporate employment, his/her broker license is suspended until such time as that status is resumed; alternatively, he/she may become an associate broker in another broker's office.

A person who has been convicted of a felony of one of the types listed above may not be granted a broker's license until seven years after the complete sentence has been served. [AS08.88.171(a) and 12 AAC 64.950]. realtor






Find out more

Post-License and Continuing Education - ONLINE

image19

POST LICENSE

In addition to the education requirements of 12 AAC 64.063 for an initial license and the continuing education requirements under 12AAC 64.500 for license renewal, within one year after the date that the commission issues an initial license to a real estate licensee, the licensee shall complete 30 hours of education.  Post-license education is required to be completed within the licensee’s first year of licensure, and proof of that education must be provided to the real estate commission prior to the licensee’s first year anniversary. 

Broker Post License Education / 30 Hours PLE / $399.00

Salesperson Post License Education / 30 Hours PLE / $375. 

Module 1 – 10 Hours / $125.00

Module 2 - 4 Hours / $50.00

Module 3  - 6 Hours / $75.00

Module 4 - 6 Hours / $75.00

Module 5 - 2 Hours / $25.00

Module 6 - 2 Hours / $25.00



CONTINUING EDUCATION


PLEASE NOTE: When you sign up for a class, it will open up for you automatically once you complete your payment.  If it doesn't, please check your pop-up blocker & allow the course to open. 

Continuing Education 
Designated Courses - (Required)

 2 Hours Each Coming Soon

Elective Courses -  12 Hours of Elective Credits are needed for renewal.

16339 Exclusive Buyer Representation  2 Hours ECE / $20.00


2469 Negotiating Basics 

 3 Hours ECE /  $30.00


2898 Evaluation & Pricing

 2 Hours ECE / $20


2888 Recovery Fund & Trust Accounting / 7 Hours ECE / $70


2888 Risk Management

7 Hours ECE / $70



Contact Us

Send Message

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Alaska Real Estate Education

(907) 746-7890